A New & Different Christmas

Well, this was my first Christmas without my partner in 15 years. It was different but not horrible in any way. I will admit that having someone new totally dampened most of the sadness. It wasn’t like the Christmases I had before, but it was still very enjoyable.

Every Christmas Eve I was the hostess with the mostest. I LOVE hosting parties & Christmas Eve was OVER THE TOP! I would have games that I put months of crafting into. I would invest a good $200 just in prizes. I had a smorgasbord of grub that could feed the neighborhood & décor that made me look like a member of the Griswald family. It was my favorite day of the year. It was for family only, maybe a friend or two but mostly just family. See the source image

This year I was no longer in my house. I moved about 2 months ago while the house is pending sale. Where I currently reside is a very small 1 bedroom apt that couldn’t host a family of maggots. So my routine of planning & buying & crafting for months, didn’t exist. And ya know, at this point in my life, I was kinda okay with that. I missed it a little but I didn’t have the mental stability nor financial stability to host. So, my youngest sister had a little gathering at her place. We had a few drinks, snacks & just chatted. It was low-key and just what I needed.

Christmas this year was with my new beau. Only been seeing each other 2 months but we have known each other since high school. It’s hard when your relationship is new and BAM the biggest holidays are here. How do you handle it? For me, I’m a holiday whore. I love shopping, decorating, baking, wrapping & gift giving. I don’t care how long I’ve known you, I will be sure to make your holiday special. Honestly, I was worried about him though. He has been single for 10 years. Has not celebrated Christmas for just as long if not longer. He lived away from family for 11 years so he really was kinda a Scrooge about it all. But I let him know that would not fly. I’m a very open, honest girl & I said that Christmas is very big to my family. This does not mean that he had to flourish me with gifts, but I did not want to wake up disappointed on Christmas, especially since it was going to be hard this year. I didn’t expect the “norm” since this is still new but no Bah-Humbugs allowed!

So I wrote a blog (you can find it here) and I sent it to him. Granted, when he read it he had NO clue I wrote it! I later did confess. He referred to it often & he said it was very helpful. And honestly, he did a wonderful job of putting a Christmas smile on my face♥

Stockings were stuffed, Christmas music hummed in the background. At one point he turned on the TV right before opening gifts & I thought “Uh, no, no TV during Christmas” but to my surprise, he got on YouTube and put a crackling fire on the screen, it was cute. See the source imageMy stocking had all the right things, a Wonder Woman keychain (I love her), nail polishes, chapstick, gum & other little tidbits. The gifts were perfect. My favorite is a little gold necklace with a heart-shaped key charm. When I opened it he said “You hold the key to my heart”♥ Boom, right in the feel goods.

We spent Christmas day with his family then mine. It was very enjoyable. Lots of food & laughter. He was floored at the generosity of my family, and I told him not to be overwhelmed, it’s just how we roll. They know he’s important to me so therefore he is part of the family.

Did I miss her? No, not really at all. He and I had an amazing day together, I didn’t feel sad. I felt loved & happy. I couldn’t have asked for a better “first” Christmas.

 

 

Leave a comment